What Makes You Unique?: Writing a Personal Mission Statement

In the midst of life’s craziness, it would seem impossible to simply survive.  As a stay at home mom, I find myself trying to constantly balance out spending time with my girls, taking care of the house, making meals, caring for my relationship with Ben, finding time with close friends and find time for myself.  It sometimes feels like my life is like a gerbil in a spinning wheel losing sight of the goal.  Then, there are other times where I fixate on the end goal that I neglect the important right now realities of life (sound familiar to anyone?).

I began thinking & writing.  One can easily go to many of the “mom” or “homemaker” sights telling us how to bring organization to our life and maintain it (because isn’t the maintenance the hardest part).  These writers have great resources and have even inspired me.  Yet, sometimes it can be so hard to know where my unique voice is amidst the writer’s advice.  I find myself either thinking I need to be like that person, or feel completely inadequate and back to square one.  It got me thinking about who I am.  What am I about?  What is unique about me?  I went even further by asking myself, what do I want to accomplish here at Evangitality.

I had read this book, The 3 Big Questions for a Frantic Family by Patrick Lencioni, a while back.  The principles here are devising a family mission statement unique to your family, while addressing one family priority that needs to be worked on/fixed within a 2-6 month period (you work on one big issue at a time, not all of them at once).  These are the three questions  Lencioni addresses (I’m only going to address Question 1 today):

  1. What makes you unique?
  2. What is your family’s rally cry (i.e. the most important thing right now to address)?
  3. How do you talk about and use these answers to these questions?

Then, I got thinking about how I could easily write-up a personal mission statement using these principles.  My struggle is comparing myself to others & losing track of who I am.  I forget to listen to my unique voice and pay homage to it.  So, I needed something concrete & tangible to go back to when I find myself looking at what someone else is doing, or putting pressures on myself that don’t align with who I am.  Furthermore, I want to be a person who is genuine and encourages others to find who they are as well (not who I think they should be).  So, here is how I came up with my personal mission statement unique to me, Kamille.

1. What makes you unique?  Part 1: Core Values

Take a piece of paper and write Core Values on one side & Strategy Values on the other, draw a line between the two.  Core values are those attributes that are undeniable about your person.  You’ve never been able to escape them.  Think back over your life and you’ll be sure to see these core values in you even as a child.  They make you who you are–they make you…YOU!  This list should only be about five-six items and then narrow it down to two or three. Here was my short Core Values list:

  • Empathetic to others needs
  • Stand up for people
  • dramatic–storyteller
  • seeks truth
  • sensitivity/sensitive spirit
  • diplomatic in dealings
  • strong opinions

I took this list and narrowed it down and redefined, because you don’t want to use vague/general words (loyalty, love, caring) and came up with Dramatic Storyteller, Sensitive Spirit, & Seeks Righteousness (combination of justice & honesty).

2. What makes you unique? Part 2: Strategy Values

Under Strategy Values, write everything that is true about you.  This list can be as expansive as you’d like.  My list was very long.  My list included: *baker, *singer, *mom, *wife, *likes making lists, *kids under four, etc.  Then, when you’re done with the strategy values, find themes throughout.  I found that my themes were Family, People Oriented, Food & Connection.

3. Writing Your Personal Mission Statement: Putting it altogether

Take your finalized list of Core Values & Strategy Values and write a unique mission statement that describes you.  It doesn’t have to be eloquent or wordy.  It simply needs to echo who you are.  Don’t try to sound like me, or someone else.  Use your words, your language, your voice.  Your personal mission statement should be describing you.  Think of it as a map to guide you where you are headed.  You might even find yourself changing your personal mission statement when your Strategy Values change (and that’s okay).  Obviously, my mission will look different when my children are grown & out of the house.  Here is what I came up for me at this present moment in time:

I’ve been blessed with a sensitive spirit, which is moved into action by standing up for righteousness, especially for people. I value my relationship with Jesus and how he has imparted me with a storyteller’s heart and redeemed my story. Through this, I am called to encourage & empower my family & others to find their story and how to connect to others with it. I also value good, quality food and love creating nutritious & delicious food through cooking & baking. All of these have ignited a strong call to genuine hospitality within me.

I want to encourage you to find time to write-up your own personal mission statement if you don’t have one already.  I would love for you to come back here and share what you’ve come up with.  It will be exciting to see how different we all are as reflective in our Personal Mission Statements.

A Year Ago: Crafting Hospitality

About Kamille

daughter of the most high.wife.mother. sister.daughter.aunt.friend.baker. culinary seeker.singer.storyteller. hospitality giver.foodie View all posts by Kamille

2 responses to “What Makes You Unique?: Writing a Personal Mission Statement

Leave a Reply

