Paleo Day 3: Hazelnut Butter & Apple Slices

I made a Greek salad tonight for dinner (without that salty addition known as feta) with leftover pistachio crusted salmon, but the food I enjoyed the most was a small amount of hazelnut butter with a couple of apple slices.  No picture, just get some hazelnut butter & cut up some apples, not too difficult–right!

While we’re on the topic of food (yes I have been dreaming about it lately)…I began thinking today, just prior to putting my girls to bed, how I would be watching Top Chef: Just Desserts tonight.  Sounds pretty horrible, considering everything they make on the show I cannot eat; however, what was worst for me was the reality that I couldn’t even have a little chocolate while watching.  But really, what was worst for me was the reality of how often I associate food with good times.  I don’t think that’s always a bad thing, because I mean–didn’t Jesus perform his first miracle at a feast making wine.  There is something to be said about a time of feasting, but what I realized is how often I add in “little feasts” everyday in my life.

When the girls go down for a nap I have the option of making an Americano or even a latte.  I’m going to a conference this weekend with two friends, which means no partaking in any sweet treats, or a mocha on the drive to Seattle.  My life (and most of ours) revolves around communing with food.  Then, what got me thinking about this whole Paleo lifestyle is all the cookbooks I own and recipes left untouched.  I began wondering, “Wow, what do I live for?”  So many moments in my life are about feasting, indulging or treating self, but what about restraint?  That’s a harder one.  Granted, I’m in the thick of it and I just might feel different in two weeks (remind me of that when I get there, because I will see this to completion).  How do we use food to bring people together, to feast, to abstain & nourish?  How do you do it?

A Year Ago: Community Meals

About Kamille

daughter of the most high.wife.mother. sister.daughter.aunt.friend.baker. culinary seeker.singer.storyteller. hospitality giver.foodie View all posts by Kamille

3 responses to “Paleo Day 3: Hazelnut Butter & Apple Slices

  • Alli Houtsma

    Hi Kamille,
    I just wanted to encourage you, being a serious lover of good food and having gone through 3 or 4 or 5 (I lost count) Lean and Green Challenges myself – I know what you are going through. This is how it has worked out for me. Every time I have taken a “challenge” I learn that there are things/food I really don’t care that much about that I can do without. Then when I go off the challenge, the new habit isn’t this huge sacrifice (like my date nights sipping wine and eating tapas with my favorite people), but just small ones (like who cares what I eat for lunch during the week at my desk – I will eat paleo goodness). So what ends up happening for me is that about 80% of the time I’m paleo and eating well and the other 20% I still enjoy the food moments that really enhance my life and bring me closer to others. Each time I do a challenge, there are new things that find are no longer care so much about and my normal diet gets better and better over time. It is a process. You don’t have to give up everything you love about food forever, just during the challenge…allow it to highlight those times in your day that you make less than healthy choices when they really aren’t worth it…and then take those things you learn when you are done with the challenge and make that a new habit. And every time you do a challenge, your list of “I can do without that” things will grow. Keep what’s “really worth it” and change what’s not.

    I’ve gone from sugar in my tea everyday, to honey every day, to nothing in my tea. And when I leave this challenge, I really don’t care to have any sweetener in my tea again. I NEVER thought I would choose this back in my sugar days (I NEVER thought I could even do honey), but it has been a process. And I am so over adding sugar to my tea now…but it took a good year and several challenges highlighting this for me.

    You’re doing great!!!

    -Alli

  • Alli Houtsma

    …and one more note of encouragement about “communing with food.” I would argue that you haven’t stopped communing with food because you are eating differently, but rather that you are communing with a new group – think of all the relationships and conversations that you are having with others in the Lean and Green challenge – this is community and relationship building, just in a different way. I am with you, I believe food is meant to have it’s place in building community. It just probably looks quite different than it has in the past right now.

    Good luck!!

Leave a Reply

