Chocolate Truffle Cupcakes

If you’re a chocolate lover then proceed.  If you’re not, well I’m sorry, but maybe you will be a chocolate liker after trying these.  I made well over 200 of these Chocolate Truffle Cupcakes for my friend’s wedding (Jason & Tina) while I was 7 months pregnant.  I realized two things after that baking extravaganza of ’08.  One is no matter how much I love someone, never again will I say yes to baking all the desserts for a large party while that pregnant and carrying for a 20 month old.  Two, is how easy these are to make–no one will know otherwise.

I think I can get these out in 40 minutes, which is pretty excellent for a sophisticated dessert.  They are also very adaptable with your chocolate liking.  You could use all bittersweet (typically 60%), semisweet, or milk chocolate.  You can mix different varieties as well.  You can make them gluten-free.  You can make them in big muffin tins or miniature ones.  If you want to add a bit of espresso to bring out the chocolate flavor even more–then do it.  I love these for all those reasons.  And I can’t understand why I haven’t shared them until now.

Before we go onto the recipe, I should share a bit about my gluten-intolerant friend Tina who these were intended for and I’ve written about before.  We met through one of her ex-boyfriends and I knew we were kindred spirits.  She has a quiet reserve about her (at least when compared to her husband), but she is full of life with joy emanating from her.  Although she seems to fill administrative jobs, which she’s wonderfully gifted at, her heart is passionate for women fulfilling their God given talents & calling.  We have spent many hours talking about our dreams of what we will become when we grow up and I can depend upon her to watch very cheesy movies together.  I can always count on her to be supportive, honest & spontaneous with me.  So when she found out she was gluten-intolerant, I knew my job was set to bake GF treats for her.

Double Chocolate Truffle Cupcakes (printable recipe)

Recipe is inspired from Martha Stewart. This is also the time to use good quality chocolate, since it is the star ingredient.  However, don’t let that stop you if you only have chocolate chips on hand.  I’ve used semi-sweet chocolate chips before and they turn out great.

Ingredients:

5 Tb unsalted butter

7 ounces milk chocolate chopped, Belcolade

7 ounces 71% cacao dark bittersweet chopped, Valhrona

1 Tb sugar

1 Tb brown rice flour (or all-purpose flour)

2 eggs

1 tsp salt

Butter & extra flour for muffin tins

Directions: Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  Butter & flour a 6 slot large muffin tin & set aside. Set a heat proof bowl over a pot with simmering water.  Add the butter & chocolate.  Stir to melt and combine.  Remove from heat.

Add the eggs & sugar to a food processor & process for 2 minutes until light in color & foamy.  Add flour & salt, process to combine (10 seconds).  Add about 1/4 cup of melted chocolate to eggs & process till combined.  Continue with 1/4 cup until all of the melted chocolate is mixed with the egg mixture.

Evenly distribute chocolate mixture to the prepared muffin tin.  Gently pat down tops with the back of silver spoon.  Bake for 18 to 20 minutes.  Cool on a rack.  Loosen with a knife around the edges and serve.

**12 cup regular muffin tin bake for 13-15 minutes.

**24 cup miniature muffin tin bake for 10-12 minutes.

Great topped with sliced strawberries, fresh raspberries, a raspberry puree, or ice cream.

 

About Kamille

daughter of the most high.wife.mother. sister.daughter.aunt.friend.baker. culinary seeker.singer.storyteller. hospitality giver.foodie View all posts by Kamille

9 responses to “Chocolate Truffle Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

