Rustic Rhubarb Cake

Although I promise to give you a recipe, allow me to ramble a bit.  About the weather, glories, & redeeming the times (and later some rhubarb cake).  I’ve been loving this weather we’ve been given in Bellingham of late.  It makes being a mama so worth it, along with the dreary months in winter.  The sun in full swing, slight breeze, dirt-painted toes in sandals, happy little girls in search of flowers or climbing towers too high for their hands to reach–blissful.  The backdoor is open, while the girls run in and out.

It’s days like this that I’m reminded of how glorious creation is & my homebody nature sheds off.  I become more aware of the little things, birds singing, breeze wisps my hair, the hues of golden & red in my youngest hair.  It’s lovely! It reminds me of how grand the universe is and how little I am. This is a verse from the song, ‘Lovely,’ by the band Waterdeep:

Lord when you sing your song

all of creation will know

Lord when you show your strength

let justice and righteousness flow

when we see your holiness

every tongue confess–You are lovely

God continues to bring me back to him, while he tells me I’m valued, treasured, & I can feel free to cry or laugh in his presence.  I hear the birds singing praise.  The trees lifting their hands to worship. And feel the breeze dance over me, enrapturing all of me–hushing the fear & empowering the dreams–his Spirit.  Today I’m melancholy with joy.  Maybe it’s hormones.  Although I’m breathing in the beauty of the day, I’m exhaling like an asthma sufferer.  My heart is thinking of the marriages dying in this world, the mother who cannot feed her children, the very real fear of war standing outside the door.  And then, I glanced and saw this verse popping out:

He will rescue the poor when they cry to him; he will help the oppressed, who have no one to defend them.  he feels pity for the weak and the needy, and he will rescue them.  he will redeem them from oppression and violence, for their lives are precious to him.–Psalm 72:12-14

No matter how much I can get sucked into the pit of despair (for myself or others), I have to remind myself of this verse.  It’s when life can’t seem to get any worse–it does, but I remember telling Ben in the midst of one of those moments, “I have to remain hopeful, because Jesus still sits on the throne & he’s capable of redeeming the least hopeful of situations or people.”  So maybe you’re having a melancholy day, or a simply wonderful, singing on mountaintops sort of day.  You could easily make this cake.  It’s one of those “one-bowl” wonders sort of cakes.  Plus, you could pass it as breakfast too.

Rustic Rhubarb Cake (printable recipe)

This recipe was given to me many years ago, but I am greatly indebted to the source.  I turn on the oven, spray my pan, & throw everything in the bowl to mix & pour into the pan.  I’ve changed some things up a bit.  I used Rapadura sugar, but you could use granulated sugar.  Instead of hazelnuts, change it out with what you have.  And instead of using whole wheat pastry flour, use all-purpose.

Ingredients

2 cups chopped rhubarb

1 cup whipping cream

1 cup Rapadura sugar

1 large egg

1 1/2 cups whole wheat pastry flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp kosher salt

For Topping:

1/2 – 3/4 cup brown sugar

3/4 cup chopped hazelnuts

Directions: Preheat oven to 350.  Spray a 9×13 pan.  In a medium bowl, combine cream, eggs & sugar and mix to combine.  Add flour, baking soda, salt & rhubarb to the bowl and stir until combined.  Pour into prepared pan.

Sprinkle with brown sugar and then the hazelnuts.  Bake for 28-30 minutes.  If you’re using Rapadura sugar, then you’ll really start to smell it at which point use a toothpick to check to see if it’s done.  If a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean–take it out.

Serve it warm, room temperature, dollop of whipped cream, yogurt, for brunch, ice cream–whatever you fancy.

About Kamille

daughter of the most high.wife.mother. sister.daughter.aunt.friend.baker. culinary seeker.singer.storyteller. hospitality giver.foodie View all posts by Kamille

2 responses to “Rustic Rhubarb Cake

Leave a Reply

