Gluten-Free Coconut Chocolate Cupcakes

I have a lot of deep thoughts and reflections, but honestly, right now I don’t have any at the tip of my tongue (or should I say tip of my fingers?).  Most of them revolve around this Lenten season.  I have been thinking about the item (or items) I would give up.  However, I never solidified anything, except…making a commitment to eat beans & rice for the next forty days (aside from weekends) for dinner.  I was inspired by Sarah from In Praise of Leftovers (but I can’t seem to find the post).  It made me want to meditate upon the simplicity of eating & life.

However, Lent is not only about giving something up, but as our pastor said at the Ash Wednesday service, “it’s also about our active role as well.”  So I am reflecting, meditating and actively pursuing words of encouragement, praise & thankfulness.  I am shedding off complaints, gossip, tone of voice and a raised voice.  I want to be that woman, that wife, that mom.  That is what I actively seek in this season.  I envisioned a closet full of boxes that need to get thrown out, not even donated, just thrown out, in order to make room for what really matters.  And in my closet of heart & mind, I have kept boxes of trash that tear down and continue old cycles.  But I have sensed God saying last night during the service that “holiness” is really who He is.  And ya know what?  I want that.  I seek holiness.  I seek to throw out the cluttered boxes collecting dust and preventing room for the sun to shine in and new life to breathe in.  What are you actively seeking?  What are your boxes and what is the sun waiting to pour in?

I know that cupcakes aren’t holy and they probably just lead to other cluttered boxes on the scale.  But really, sometimes it’s eating cupcakes that can help alleviate some of the stress–right?  Unless of course, you’re fasting.  My friend Tina is gluten-intolerant and happens to work with Ben, so I’m lucky to see her more often; as well as, find gluten-free treats to bring just for her.  These were what I brought yesterday and she says they’re some of the best.

Gluten-Free Coconut Cupcakes with Chocolate Ganache (printable recipe)

This recipe is adapted from Sweet & Natural.  I wanted to use ganache rather than a buttercream.  And since the recipe used coconut flour, I figured it needed all of the goodness, which coconut contributes.  Sorry you non-coconut loving people and sorry you’re missing out on a very good thing.

Cupcakes:

  • 1/4 cup coconut flour
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil (melt it in a microwave)
  • 1/2 cup agave nectar
  • 1 teaspoon coconut extract

Chocolate Ganache:

  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 8 ounces semi-sweet chocolate

Preheat the oven to 375*F.  Spray mini cupcake pan with cooking spray (or coconut oil) and set aside.  In a large bowl, mix together coconut flour, cocoa powder, salt and baking soda.  In a separate bowl, mix together eggs, oil, agave and coconut extract until well-combined.  Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and stir until blended.  Pour batter into prepared pan and bake for about 10 minutes.

While cupcakes are cooling, prepare ganache.  Put either semi-sweet chips in a bowl or chopped semi-sweet in a bowl.  Heat cream over medium heat.  Once it hits a boil, turn the heat off and pour over the chocolate chips.   Whisk until it is completely combined.  Let the ganache cool and solidify, which can take a couple hours.  However, you can choose what the texture of your frosting will be.  Makes 18 to 24 mini cupcakes.

About Kamille

daughter of the most high.wife.mother. sister.daughter.aunt.friend.baker. culinary seeker.singer.storyteller. hospitality giver.foodie View all posts by Kamille

One response to “Gluten-Free Coconut Chocolate Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

