Baking Bucket List

As I mentioned in a previous post, I wanted to set a New Year’s Goal, which revolved around baking.  Primarily being a bucket list in the baking arena.  I am definitely more of a baker at heart and it’s only been in the past couple years where I have cooked more.  Most of that is due to my stay-at-home status.  However, if you could set me loose in Williams-Sonoma or Sur La Table (if I had a 10 minute shopping spree free of charge) the baking department would monopolize my time.

So with that in mind, I have set to create a Baking Bucket List, but not necessarily for 2010 alone, because then the kitchen would rule my life (along with this blog) and I’m not in the business of being Julie.  I did make a semi-list, but after making the list I realized what I would like to do even more is bake from the cookbooks I own, which essentially has many of the items on my baking bucket list.   Another thing I’ve realized while making this list is how I’m surprised I haven’t made certain items yet; but, I came to the conclusion is that I prefer other tastes over some of these, or some are seriously high in fat content and I don’t want to add that to our household.  Below are some cookbooks I own and will be working through as well and here is the list:

1.Yeast Dough

1.French Bread
2.Baguette
3.Sourdough
4.Italian Bread
5.Challah
6.English Muffins
7.Kaiser Rolls
8.Bagels
9.Stollen
10.Babka
11.Brioche
12.Croissants
13.Danish Pastry
14.Streusel

2.Quick Breads

1.Steamed Brown Bread
2.Popovers
3.And new scones & muffins (because I cannot get enough of them)


3.Doughnuts, Waffles

1.gluten-free maple bars
2.Chocolate Cake doughnuts
3.Yeast-Raised Doughnuts
4.Sour Cream Doughnuts
5.Baked Doughnuts
6.Crepes (of all types)

4.Pastries

1.Puff Pastry
2.Cream Horns
3.Palmiers
4.Turnovers
5.Napoleons
6.Baked Apple Dumplings
7.Gateau Pithiviers
8.Eclairs
9.Strudel
10.Phyllo Dough

5.Pies

1.Coconut Cream
2.Banana Cream
3.Chocolate Cream
4.Chiffon type ones
5.Shaker Lemon Pie

6.Cakes

1.Chocolate Genoise
2.Roulade and/or Sponge Roll
3.Chiffon
4.Black Forest Cake
5.Petit Fours
6.Angel Cake

7.Cookies

1.Ladyfingers
2.Madeleines
3.Macaroons
4.Tuiles
5.Florentines

8.Custards, Puddings, Mousses

1.Pots de crème
2.crème Caramel
3.various bread puddings
4.Steamed puddings
5.Souffles
6.Bavarian Cream
7.Baked Alaska

9.Candy

1.Marzipan

Cookbooks

Rose’s Heavenly Cakes

Sticky, Chewy, Messy, Gooey

The Cake Bible

The Pie & Pastry Bible

America’s Test Kitchen Family Baking Cookbook

The Dessert Bible (Cook’s Illustrated)

Professional Baking (2nd Edition)

Once Upon a Tart

The Good Egg

The Good Cookie

Essence of Chocolate

    About Kamille

    daughter of the most high.wife.mother. sister.daughter.aunt.friend.baker. culinary seeker.singer.storyteller. hospitality giver.foodie View all posts by Kamille

    2 responses to “Baking Bucket List

    • Rosie of BooksAndBakes

      Hello hello!

      Brilliant idea! Ok, so I was intrigued and counted them: 57. You’re going to be a busy lady, and your family is going to be very happy!

      I’ve just baked for the first time in I don’t know how long. I had intended to do this recipe this time last month and…didn’t. But now we’re back on track again, woohaha!

      Rosie

      • Kamille

        Thanks for counting them for me as I never did. I know the list is much larger than this, but one has to draw the line somewhere. Plus, I just got Rose’s Heavenly Cakes for Christmas and I think I want to make 99% of the cakes in there. You would like it as it has metric measurement as well.

    Leave a Reply

    