Avellinos ‘Unplugged’

I’m having what I call, “Kamille time.”  Kamille as in, “this is my name when I meet someone during Kamille time, not mama, mommy, wife–just Kamille please.”  Being a mom without children in tow is wonderful (distance makes the heart grow fonder) as I watch the parents walk past the window at my favorite coffee shop, Avellino’s, holding their children’s hands.  Yes, that is part of me, but at this present moment, I get to be known as Kamille.

As an extrovert, I think it can be more difficult saying you need your own space.  I mean, introverts can get away with that all the time, because, well…that’s how they roll.  While being an extrovert, people put expectations on you.  Like if I’m quiet, or just not wanting to be social, it must mean there’s something wrong.  But, really, even us extroverts need our alone time.  Our “finding ourselves” amidst the constant cries, conversations, telephone calls–life’s interruptions or simply happenings–is still needed among extroverts.  I would even argue that is equally important as it is for introverts.

It’s kind of like unplugging life to be.  To appreciate the cloud strewn sky, the people salivating over the cream puffs in the case, or the ability to think without the pressure of a child waking early from a nap.

Another thing I get to do on Kamille day is get my first professional haircut since before my youngest was born.  There are two reasons for the absence between haircuts.  One is I can’t stand paying the money to get my haircut.  It literally pains me.  Second, is it’s hard to find time, because I would really rather be doing so many other things with children-free time.

I think it’s also hard to make time for Kamille time.  For those mothers, I know you can relate to this.  There is that pull in finding time with your spouse, creating peace & tranquility within your home, giving your husband time away as well, and then working through any guilt you may have to give yourself time.  It’s a demon, sucking the very life out of you.  But, I can attest that no one wants to be around the selfless servant who is sitting in a pity party.  And that’s something I appreciate about Ben and our marriage.  We strive to give ourselves date nights, but even more…those Ben times & Kamille times.  Those unplugged from family times.  In order to strengthen ourselves, so we can come back feeling replenished and guided to steer again.

Well, my latte is finished and my split ends need to see their death.  Wherever you find yourself on this three day weekend, I hope you can see your glass half full.

About Kamille

daughter of the most high.wife.mother. sister.daughter.aunt.friend.baker. culinary seeker.singer.storyteller. hospitality giver.foodie View all posts by Kamille

5 responses to “Avellinos ‘Unplugged’

  • shelley

    I LOVE the same cup of pretty coffee I saw in your picture and then scrolled around your blog. Delightful:) Can’t wait to see the new hair and HAVE to comment on the “Ben and Kamille” time you mentioned, is that the same or different than “mommy daddy time?” Love you lots. You do a great job on this blog! Shelley

    • Kamille

      Oh Shelley you rascal, definitely not mommy daddy time:) I’m glad you stopped by and thanks for the kind words about the blog. And I have to say that the hairdresser did a GREAT job. It’s probably my favorite haircut to date.

  • Paige

    I really enjoyed this post. It’s fun to hear you speak about you. Stephen and I completely agree that “me” time is a must. I really like your definition of “Kamille” time.

  • Jamie McMillen

    Thanks for being so honest…… momma time without the guilt is so hard sometimes (OK…most of the time). Good job Kamille!

    • Kamille

      I know it is so hard, but I think those thoughts of guilt are not coming from God–right:) thanks for stopping by and your comment. Have a great evening with your family.

Leave a Reply

