Mustard Roasted Cauliflower

As I’m sure we are all blown away by the wreckage on the news, internet, facebook, etc with the devastation in Haiti, it might makes us wonder about so many things in life.  One thing I’ve been struck by is the certainty of my blessings.  As I sat at the table last night eating dinner with my family, Ben shared about his lunch appointment that day and the first hand accounts of Mozambique orphans.   His client spoke of witnessing a four year old child raising his 18 month old sibling, all the while searching through the garbage dump for food, clothing, & basic sustenance of life.

Both of us looking at our girls with their pretty little heads adorned with piggy tails thinking the same thing…”you girls are blessed.”  Tears start to form as I look at my girls living in that condition and my heart breaks.  My girls who know nothing of trial, or pain, or anything evil.  Their innocence as they eat grilled cheese sandwiches and I think upon my comment about dinner before sitting down, “this is our humble dinner tonight, nothing fancy.”  But this humble dinner would be the feast for those orphans in the dump.

And as I left for a meeting that night, I wept in the car.  I wept thinking of the Haitian mothers who would never hold their babies again.  Little bodies being crushed by falling buildings.  Babies who would never hear their mother’s song, or feel the warmth of her touch, or the protection & love of their father, because they are now orphans.  And what do I do with this anguish?  I cry, I weep, I mourn.  I cry with the mother.  I cry with the father.  I cry with the child.

My friend once asked the question of herself and God.  When am I sinning?  When I laugh at what God cries at.  When I mock at what God scorns.  When I judge at what God is extending grace to.  So in this hour, I choose to cry for the broken, to scorn the flippant, to extend grace…and reflect upon how truly blessed I am.

Today I made this simple, mustard roasted cauliflower.  It reminded me of how something so meager can be very fulfilling.  And how it’s the little things in life, which are the most rewarding.  I hope you will find your little blessings to be thankful for and give blessings to the people in the wreckage.

Mustard Roasted Cauliflower  (printable recipe)

This is a simple meal for simple times and you can easily roast a couple of these slices then store some in the fridge for other uses.  I love the combination of the salt, mustard and sweetness of the roasted cauliflower.

1 head of cauliflower
2 Tb Olive oil (or more)

2T Dijon mustard
Fine sea salt

Preheat oven to 400 F –  Place the head of cauliflower on a cutting board, and slice it top-down into ¼-inch thick slices, some of which will crumble. Baste cauliflower with plenty of olive oil, dijon mustard and a bit of salt, spread it in a single layer on a heavy sheet pan (or two, if one looks crowded), and roast until golden brown and caramelized, turning bits and slices once or twice, about 25 minutes.

About Kamille

daughter of the most high.wife.mother. sister.daughter.aunt.friend.baker. culinary seeker.singer.storyteller. hospitality giver.foodie View all posts by Kamille

Leave a Reply

