Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

Today is my little big girl’s third birthday.  She came into our room at 6:00 to greet us with her sweet, “Good Mornin’!”  Unfortunately, daddy informed her that it wasn’t waking up time and needed to go back to bed for a little bit longer.  After about 45 minutes she came back in where we welcomed our birthday girl.  I pulled her up into bed with me and retold her birth story as she stared off into space (which means she’s listening–just trying to picture it).  We also cuddled while looking through photos and I couldn’t help but think, “three years ago at this very moment I was in transition getting ready to push my firstborn out to meet him or her.”

And I would definitely say she’s one of my greatest accomplishments.  She brings excitement, new perspective, wild imagination, enormous honesty and a heck of a lot of fun.  So when you’re almost three year old has been planning on having Rainbow Sprinkle Cupcakes for her birthday for almost three months now…what does a mama do?  Go and buy the confetti cake mix from the store?  NEVER!  There are certain compromise-‘ables’ in the kitchen…ice cream, box brownies, take & bake pizza and more.  However, when it comes to most baked items (aside from the brownies), I feel like buying something from the grocery bakery or especially from the box would be wrong for myself.

I only apply this to me and not anyone else, because it’s more of a standard I’ve somehow put upon myself.  But probably the bigger reason is wanting to give a ‘from scratch’ gift to the people I love.  It’s my way of letting them know I’ve taken my time to cook or create something unique & special (and yummy, because isn’t that one of the biggest reasons) for them.

Well, there was a picture in a cupcake book of a Rainbow Sprinkle Cupcake, which my oldest salivated over.  And since I know she was thrilled when she got an ice cream cone at her grandparents house, I suggested a Rainbow Sprinkle Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes for her birthday.  Her eyes lit up even more and today it was everything she (and I) dreamed of.  These were actually quite delicious cupcakes.  So just because you’re over the age of 24, don’t overlook the taste, the airiness and the delicate appeal of Ice Cream Cupcake Cones.

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes (printable recipe)

This recipe is adapted from Perfect CupcakesI was originally going to make only six of these for the kids, while making a more “adult” dessert using the Meyer Lemons I have in the fridge.  And you know, I’m glad I didn’t, because these are some pretty good cupcakes.  I know the cake flour is essential to this, because it has the lowest gluten content among flours.  But the texture combination of the airy cupcake, creamy buttercream and crunchy & chewiness of the cone is really well-rounded.  Like I said, they’re not just for kids. **Disclaimer: 9/20/10 These cupcakes should be made the day of or else you will end up with quite soggy cones.  As for filling the cones, be sure you don’t overfill them, because they will erupt everywhere.  I fill my 2/3 full; however, I have a reader who recommends 1/2 full.

Cupcakes

  • 1 1/2 cups (180 g) cake flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup (120 g) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup (120 g) granulated sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2/3 cup (170 g) whole milk
  • 1/4 cup (30 g) multi-colored confetti sprinkles
  • 12 cupcake sugar wafer cones

Vanilla Buttercream

  • 3 cups (490 g) powdered sugar
  • 1 cup (250 g) unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 4 tablespoon heavy whipping cream

Directions

  • Preheat the oven to 350.  Place the wafer cones in the muffin pan.
  • In a small bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder and salt.  In the bowl of an electric mixer, cream together the butter & sugar until well blended.  Beat in the egg and vanilla until light.  With the mixer on low speed, gradually add half of the flour mixture, then the milk and then the rest of the flour mixture until well blended.  Fold in the confetti sprinkles into the batter.  Using a small ice cream scooper/cookie dough scooper, divide the batter evenly among the 12 cupcake cones.
  • Bake the cupcake cones for 20-25 minutes.  When you press lightly in the middle of the cone, they should spring back.  Let them cool on a cooling rack until they’re completely cooled.
  • Meanwhile, start the buttercream while the cupcakes are cooling.  Combine butter and powdered sugar in the bowl of an electric mixer.  Mix on low speed at first to avoid powdered sugar from flying everywhere, then turn to medium.  Beat for about 2-3 minutes.  Add the vanilla and mix until combined.  Then, add the heavy whipping cream and beat for an additional 2 minutes.  If you want to add food coloring, do so now.
  • Prepare a pastry bag fitted with a star tip.  Turn down the opened end of the bag one inch down.  Using a rubber spatula, fill the bag with the buttercream.  Twist the bag, in order to keep the frosting from squeezing out.  Pipe the Vanilla Buttercream onto the cupcakes and sprinkle with additional confetti sprinkles.
About Kamille

daughter of the most high.wife.mother. sister.daughter.aunt.friend.baker. culinary seeker.singer.storyteller. hospitality giver.foodie View all posts by Kamille

8 responses to “Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

