Promise & Spicy Pumpkin Soup

I’m sitting in my living/dining room looking outside to the glorious picture of sunshine pouring down on the golden leaves left on the tree with the faint hue of blue in the sky.  The wind is beginning to breathe big breaths upon the leaves and awaken the gray clouds to another stormy afternoon.  But in the meantime, I will enjoy what this brief window of sunshine has to offer.  With my oldest being sick the past couple days, we’ve been relegated to “operation indoors” (a.k.a. cabin fever).  And as I haven’t had much alone time with her being sick and random sleeping times as a result, then you mix in my youngest who is sleeping during the oldest awake hours…well, that equals one exhausted mama.

photo

So yes, I will enjoy this calm before the storm.

I think it’s fitting that I live in the Pacific Northwest in comparison to the way life is and how they correlate with the seasons here.  As the wind and the rains pour down, so is our life at many moments.  It’s hard to look past the knee high puddles, shivering bodies, and wind blown hair to remember the rainbow after the storms.  And as any person living in the PacNW, they would say, “but it storms so much that the sun rarely gives light for a rainbow.”  Too true, leaving us feeling a bit hollow inside.

I like what David Bazan from Pedro the Lion says in his song, ‘Promise.’  (this was Ben and my wedding recessional)

for what i’ve seen so far, i can’t believe my eyes
and what a nice surprise
if i look up and the sky’s not there,
is there any reason i should be scared
when a promise, is a promise, i know
if i look up and the sky’s not there,
is there any reason i should be scared
when a promise, is a promise, i know

I like the certainty which comes from Jesus even when we’re walking (or trying to get up) through life’s stormy weather.  I have many things to be thankful for in this day…roof over my head, husband with a job, two daughters without major health problems, picturesque view out my window and I am my beloved’s.

IMG_4260

Spicy Pumpkin Soup (printable recipe)

This recipe is from my friend Laura and it’s very forgiving as I have changed things here and there, but two things are for sure..1. it’s easy and 2. people will LOVE it.  Plus, for vegans & vegetarians, simply substitute chicken broth with vegetable broth.

Ingredients:

  • 1 Tb oil
  • 1 Tb each, minced garlic and chili powder
  • 1-2 tsp ground cumin (I love cumin)
  • 1/2 tsp ground coriander
  • 1/4 tsp chili pepper flakes
  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • 2 cups cooked garbanzo beans or 2 cans (15 oz) chick peas (garbanzo beans), rinsed & drained
  • 1 1/2 cups pumpkin puree or 1 can (15 oz) solid pack pumpkin
  • 2 cups corn kernels, or 2 cans corn kernels, drained
  • 3/4 cup salsa
  • salt to taste

In a soup pot, heat oil over medium heat. Add the chili powder, cumin, coriander & garlic and cook for 1 minute, while constantly stirring. Add broth, increase heat to medium-high, throw everything else in, bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer.

Your soup will eventually start to thicken and resemble the texture of thin gravy, which is what you want.  You can easily have this on the table within 30 minutes.  Serve it with cornbread and sour cream.  You could even use black beans or some other bean of your choice.  I prefer the chickpea, but do what you like–it’s truly forgiving.  This has a bit of Indian flavor to it and I typically keep adding in more cumin till it hits the right spot.

IMG_4273

About Kamille

daughter of the most high.wife.mother. sister.daughter.aunt.friend.baker. culinary seeker.singer.storyteller. hospitality giver.foodie View all posts by Kamille

2 responses to “Promise & Spicy Pumpkin Soup

  • Melissa

    Kamille,
    I so enjoy your blog:) It puts a smile on my face & gives me a peaceful reminder that God never fails & it will all be ok, Thank you for that:)
    And your daughters are beautiful!!
    Have a blessed weekend:)
    Melissa (Dinsmore) Smith 🙂

    • Kamille

      thanks Melissa–you’re very sweet and I appreciate your affirmation. And the best way to a mother’s heart is to compliment her children in one fashion or another. Enjoy the cool weather Yuma is finally getting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

