Rootbeer Cake & Comfort

IMG_4263

I have been thinking lately about Sabbath. Some of this is due to being asked to give a talk to a group of college students about the Sabbath. I’ve been reading, listening & meditating upon what Scripture and various authors/speaker have said about the topic.

There’s a lot to be said about this exhaustive topic, but I think the best way of understanding so far has been to do. I have to insert that I have practiced a Sabbath for a while, but I don’t think it’s been very intentional or thoughtful. Yesterday was one of the firsts. We as a family started our day of rest on Saturday night. On Sunday morning I sang on the worship team, which was wonderful to be able to walk into practice (then the services) feeling a sense of security and rest in my Lord like never before.

It was also great to come home to a house full of toys strewn around the floor, dirty dishes whispering, “clean me,” and a cell phone & computer left cold, because I was invited to rest in the midst of disarray. I was invited to lay aside my worries of what would come the next day, because all I had to think about was knowing my Lord, my Papa God would carry me through to Monday. I was resting in the rhythms of His unfettering grace & mercy, as we lay on the park grass watching our oldest find courage & strength in her ability to climb a once unknown rock wall. All I had to do was lavish in the invitation to rest.

In the busyness of our lives and our culture, we’re taught to only slow down when we take a vacation, or when we get sick. But why wait for a vacation that only comes a couple times a year to rest? Why wait for a sweeping of the stomach flu to rest? Yesterday was like my vacation a couple weeks back, where a sense of abandonment flew over the lake and up into the air. The sun caught hold of it as it poured down upon my body to invigorate me; while, the lake sucked it up and restored me as I swam through it. In the evening, it came through us feasting on good food and laughing. Sabbath, it’s a slice of Earth redeemed.

IMG_3255

Rootbeer Cake (printable recipe)

This recipe is from Baked cookbook and I baked mine in two small pans.  Since we were at Ben’s grandparents cabin, I used what was available.  One gelatin pan and one small angel cake pan, but it worked out quite well.  Plus, they were deliciously moist.

Ingredients for Cake:

  • 2 cups root beer (not diet)
  • 1 cup dark unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 1 1/4 cups granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup firmly packed dark brown sugar
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 large eggs

For the Root Beer Fudge Frosting:

  • 2 ounces dark chocolate (60% cacao), melted and cooled slightly
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup root beer
  • 2/3 cup dark unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar

To Serve: Vanilla ice cream

Make the Root Beer Bundt Cake: Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F. Generously spray the inside of a 10-inch bundt pan with nonstick cooking spray; alternatively, butter it, dust with flour, and knock out the excess flour.

In a small saucepan, heat the root beer, cocoa powder, and butter over medium heat until the butter is melted. Add the sugars and whisk until dissolved. Remove from the heat and let cool.

In a large bowl, whisk the flour, baking soda, and salt together. In a small bowl, whisk the eggs until just beaten, then whisk them into the cooled cocoa mixture until combined. Gently fold the flour mixture into the cocoa mixture. The batter will be slightly lumpy–do not overbeat, as it could cause the cake to be tough. Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake for 35 to 40 minutes, rotating the pan halfway through the baking time, until a small sharp knife inserted into the cake comes out clean. Transfer the pan to a wire rack to cool completely. Gently loosen the sides of the cake from the pan and turn it out onto the rack.

IMG_3237

Make the Root Beer Fudge Frosting: Put all the ingredients in a food processor. Pulse in short bursts utnil the frosting is shiny and smooth. Use a spatula to spread the fudge frosting over the crown of the bundt in a thick layer. Let the frosting set before serving, with the ice cream on the side.

IMG_3260

About Kamille

daughter of the most high.wife.mother. sister.daughter.aunt.friend.baker. culinary seeker.singer.storyteller. hospitality giver.foodie View all posts by Kamille

Leave a Reply

