Feta-Mint Corn on the Cob

IMG_3250I forgot to take a picture until after it was already packaged up.

As an Arizonian native, summertime rings a different tune than the one Washingtonians hear. We hear temperatures in the 100 degree range, skin melting off when you run across the blacktop, air conditioner is a way of life and the life of a vampire sounds appealing (not the blood sucking part, just the coming out after dark).

However, there are certain tunes that ring true whether in Washington or Arizona during the summertime. Swimming, even if the temperature of a pool in AZ is in the mid 80s come noon. Watermelon, it is one of those refreshing, cool, crisp fruits that make a summer evening complete. And corn on the cob. It’s a summertime icon as far as I’m concerned. I prefer the traditional “cook it in a big pot of boiling water” method over grilling any day of the week. And keep it simple by smothering butter over the kernels & sprinkling salt on top. Makes my mouth water just thinking about it.
Then, there is the way in which one eats it. I never thought much about it before I married Ben and observed how he ate his corn on the cob. It’s borderline blasphemy. I will eat it right to the core–leaving no trace of a kernel in sight. I’m the same way with oranges (eat it to the pith) and melons (to the rind). So the first time we were eating corn on the cob after being married I noticed that he still had chunks of kernels left on. I couldn’t bear it and then did what any self-respecting wife would do…I ate the rest of his corn on the cob.
I know I’ve lost some of you about now, because you’re probably thoroughly disgusted that I ate and sucked off the rest of my husband’s chewed on cob; but, all I have to say is I was preparing myself for motherhood (not for the faint of stomach).

Well, back to the point of the Feta-Mint Corn on the Cob. While we were at the cabin last week I came across this recipe in my Gourmet magazine and thought it would be nice to branch outside of the typical butter & salt. Plus, I had this wonderful feta cheese from the Farmer’s Market and some fresh mint from my house. And I must say it was wonderful!

IMG_3246

Corn on the Cob with Mint-Feta Butter (printable recipe)

Recipe from Gourmet Magazine. When you make it (as I know you will), there is no way around getting messy. So, fully embrace it and make sure you go to the bottom of the bowl with your cob and scoop out the buttery, salty cheese goodness with complete abandon.

Ingredients:

1/2 stick unsalted butter, softened
7 oz feta, finely crumbled (1 1/2 cups) **I had a bit less and it was fine
1/4 cup finely chopped mint
8 large ears of corn, shucked, each cob cut crosswise into 4 pieces

Directions: Stir together butter, feta, mint, and a rounded 1/2 tsp salt in a large bowl.
Cook corn in a large pot of boiling water until crisp-tender, about 3 minutes. Transfer with tongs to butter mixture and toss until well coated.
**Mint-feta butter can be made 2 days ahead and chilled.

About Kamille

daughter of the most high.wife.mother. sister.daughter.aunt.friend.baker. culinary seeker.singer.storyteller. hospitality giver.foodie View all posts by Kamille

2 responses to “Feta-Mint Corn on the Cob

  • Liz

    Okay, I’m totally going to have to try this. Gracelynne is obsessed with corn on the cob… it’s one of her favorite summer treats. By the way, I don’t think it’s gross that you finished off Ben’s corn… I would do the same if Gailen didn’t clean his cob as completely as I do.

  • Jared

    Hmmmm hot cold corn combo?

Leave a Reply

