Beyond the Reflection

IMG_2924
Do you ever feel like you’re at a loss for words?  You feel like you’re not really in existence, but just an observer in your world?  As a little girl I had this shirt of Ernie from Seasame Street where he was looking at himself in a mirror and there happened to be a mirror behind him, so it was series of reflections of him that bounced back and forth.  I would stare at a hand mirror, while standing with my back to the bathroom mirror.  Then, I would focus on the reflection beyond the reflection.  I would always wonder how far it could go, but I could never see that far and it gave me a glimpse of what infinity meant.

It’s like that in my life right now.  I keep looking at all the reflections beyond the reflections searching for some semblance, but feel like I won’t find it anytime soon.  Whether it’s the endless pile of laundry, constant trail of toys scattered about, never ceasing broom employment, and then I go beyond the household stuff and look at my girls feeling like I have nothing left to give.  My creative juices run short come 7:00 p.m. at night, which means I hardly have anytime to do anything of consequence.

I have all these thoughts and ideas stirring in my head, but as a result of being a mom of two younger children, I have little time to really convey them or turn them into reality.  Does this sound familiar for some of you?  Some of it could be due to the heat, or the fact that as I write this at 10:40 at night my oldest has woken up crying for me.  It would seem as though there is never a spare moment for myself.  The idea of having alone time sounds superb, but the reality is when I do have it, it is spent cleaning, prepping dinner, or some other domestic activity to keep a rein on.

However, there is one way for me to unwind.  Bake!  It allows me to relieve tension, be creative, and I get to bless someone with the end result.  It reminds me of my friends asking how I made raspberry sorbet.  Of course, I begin with, “Oh it’s not that hard…”( then realize it is a little more complicated for someone who doesn’t spend as much time in the kitchen).  I was telling them how to make a raspberry puree, which requires to constantly push the blended up raspberries through a sieve, and told them it’s actually quite therapeutic (especially after the umpteenth tantrum, whiny voice & all together sour puss attitude).  You should try it!  With that said, here are some great nummies that never fail me.

IMG_0584

Peanut Butter Scotcharoos (printable recipe)

I was making all the desserts for my friend Jessica’s Bachelorette party a couple years back, my oven completely shut down.  This was my back up peanut butter chocolate concoction made all by stovetop.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup light corn syrup
  • 1 cup peanut butter
  • 6 cups rice krispies
  • 1 cup butterscotch chips
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Lightly grease a 9×13 pan. Combine sugar & corn syrup in pot over medium heat, stirring constantly. Once the sugar has dissolved remove from heat. Add peanut butter and mix into sugar syrup until smooth. Add your rice krispies and stir till completely coated. Pour into your greased 9×13 pan and smooth out.

In a small pan combine butterscotch & semi-sweet chips over low heat, stirring constantly until smooth. Pour over the rice krispies in pan. You can either let them cool at room temperature or in the fridge. The chocolate will set at room temperature. Cut & serve.

About Kamille

daughter of the most high.wife.mother. sister.daughter.aunt.friend.baker. culinary seeker.singer.storyteller. hospitality giver.foodie View all posts by Kamille

2 responses to “Beyond the Reflection

  • Quinn

    My mom used to make these all the time growing up. They were a favorite at church bake sales – she started making them in a shallow (probably jelly-roll type) pan and cutting them with large cookie cutters for the closest holiday (think hearts in February, shamrocks in March). And then I found out when I got married that my mother-in-law also makes them. So they are definitely a family tradition for us!

    I appreciate you sharing that you often feel depleted around 7pm, as I often do too, and it’s nice to know I’m not alone. I think the next time I need to rejuvenate after a long day I’ll have to try baking!

  • Healthy Fish Tacos (but good) | Evangitality

    […] made at the 1:00 hour (sound familiar to anyone else?).  And other times a bit bigger like making these to eat a couple, hopefully give the majority away and then, post them here.  Monday morning came […]

Leave a Reply

